The Settlement Workers in Schools (SWIS) team in New Westminster Schools is run by MOSAIC. With an office at the Welcome Centre in NWSS, the team works in a wide range of languages, while they support students and families across the district. There are specific staff assigned to support each school, but members of the team will work together to support families when translations may be required. Below is the list of the SWIS staff who work in our schools to support you and your families. If you’re new and have questions about how to connect with the program, you can use the application form listed here, or reach out to the staff member listed for your school below (or to the person who speaks the language you may feel more comfortable speaking in, as the team works with you to set up any support you may need).

SETTLEMENT WORKERS IN SCHOOLS (SWIS) TEAM
2022-23 Contact information and key assignments
Language Name Email Schools Cell phone Office number
Program Manager
  • Persian
  • Turkish
Maniya Rafiei mrafiei@mosaicbc.org
  • Welcome Centre
236-818-2706 604 517-6309
Settlement Workers
  • Tigrinya
  • Amharic
Amanuel Asgodom aasgodom@mosaicbc.org
  • New Westminster Secondary
  • Lord Kelvin Elementary
  • 脡cole Glenbrook Middle
  • Connaught Heights Elementary
604 -561- 8390 604 517-6309
  • Arabic
Alin Arakelian aarakelian@mosaicbc.org
  • 脡cole Herbert Spencer Elementary
  • Fraser River Middle
  • 脡cole Qayqayt Elementary
  • Lord Tweedsmuir Elementary
236-818-7595 604 517-6309
  • Dari
  • Pashto
Frishta Hassani fhassani@mosaicbc.org
  • Queensborough Middle
  • Queen Elizabeth Elementary
  • Lord Kelvin Elementary
236-808-9883 604 517-6309
  • Ukrainian
  • Polish
  • Russian
Dina Palamar dpalamar@mosaicbc.org
  • Skwo:wech Elementary
  • FW Howay Elementary
  • New Westminster Secondary
236-818-4154 604 517-6309
Youth Settlement and Engagement Workers
  • Farsi
Shabnam Khatibijah skhatibijah@mosaicbc.org
  • New Westminster Secondary
236-818-2182 604 517-6309
  • Spanish
Ana Sierra asierra@mosaicbc.org
  • New Westminster Secondary
  • Fraser River Middle School
604 -562 -0279 604 517-6309